Circuit Court

Circuit Court


Boone County was established in 1830, named after and in honor of Daniel Boone. The Boone County Circuit Court was established in 1832. Prior to that time a Circuit Court Judge served different counties and portions thereof and literally rode the Circuit from town to town. The first term of the Boone County Circuit Court was convened in a home in Jamestown, the next term of the Circuit Court was held in Thorntown. The decision was made to hold the third session in Lebanon at the home of A.H. Longley, (the benefactor of Abner Longley Park). In 1834, Circuit Court officially moved into the Courthouse in downtown Lebanon, although not the courthouse that exists today. B.F. Morris was the first Judge of the Circuit Court. There have been 25 different Circuit Court Judges in Boone County's history. Their terms of service have varied from 2 years to 26 years.



J. Jeffrey Edens was appointed by Governor Mitch Daniels as Judge of the Boone Circuit Court December 29, 2010 and was elected to a 6 year term in 2012. Sally E. Berish is Magistrate of the Boone Circuit Court. She was appointed to the bench in 2005. Boone County Circuit Court has criminal, civil, and all of the juvenile jurisdiction in Boone County. 


The Indiana Constitution directs that the State be divided into several circuits by the General Assembly. Of the 92 counties in Indiana, 88 have circuit courts. The remaining four counties are divided into joint circuit courts of two counties each. There are 102 circuit court judges in the State of Indiana.




Judge Lori Schein

Circuit Court Judge

310 Courthouse Square

Lebanon, IN 46052

Office Hours

Monday - Friday

8am - 4pm

Staff Directory