Commissioners Office


Commissioners’ Office


The county commissioners are the custodians of the home-rule powers of the county. Counties have 3 commissioners, one from each district in the county. Within the scope of home rule, commissioners may adopt and vest themselves with additional regulatory powers. Specifically, all commissioners have authority to pass ordinances in the following broad areas:



  • controlling, maintaining, and supervising county property, including courthouses, jails, and public offices;

  • supervising construction and maintenance of roads and bridges, and to provide for traffic control;

  • creating economic development programs to attract and retain jobs in the county;

  • implementing policies for vacation pay, sick leave, paid holidays and other similar benefits to county employees;

  • administering elections in conjunction with the county election board;

  • establishing minimum housing standards;

  • auditing and authorizing payments on behalf of the county;

  • incorporating new towns and alter township boundary lines, on petition;

  • receiving bids and authorizing contracts;

  • exercising appointive powers, including both the selection of members to fill positions on boards, commissions, and committees, and appointments of certain department heads; and

  • planning and implementing strategies for solid waste district boards


It should be noted that the three commissioners are elected by, and represent all taxpayers in, Boone County, regardless of which district in which they reside.  

Kaylee Jessie

Commissioners Assistant

116 W Washington St.

Lebanon, IN 46052

Office Hours

Monday - Friday

8am - 4pm