TitleOwnerCategoryModified DateSize 
Appeal WorksheetJennifer Lasley 5/15/2017420.79 KBDownload
Instructions for Appeals and Corrections of Error

If you are filing a form 130 or 133 (appeal or correction of error)...

You will be able to use the Boone County Appeal Worksheet for  either filing.  Please fill out the parcel number, owner's name, phone number, property address, e-mail, and include the owner's address if different from the property address.


Under taxpayer objections, fill out why you believe an assessment is incorrect.


Under taxpayer evidence, please include anything that will help make your case.  This could include pictures and/or valid comparable sales from the correct time frame (the 12 months prior to the January 1st assessment date).  If you have an appraisal from the proper time frame, this may work as evidence as well.


If you are filing a form 133 (correction of error), please state on the worksheet what you believe is incorrect.  i.e. square footage, the number of plumbing fixtures, etc.


The Property Tax Assessment Board of Appeals holds meetings on Wednesday's starting at 8:30 a.m. in the Boone County Assessor's Office:

 The meeting will be open to the public, but only those people who have set hearings will be allowed to speak.


2017/2018 Appeal Deadline is June 30, 2017, no appeals will be accepted after this date.

Reassessment Appeal Process

Indiana law provides a couple of ways for taxpayers to contest the assessed value of their property. Both begin at the local level and can be appealed to the state only after being reviewed locally.

State law allows a 45 day window to appeal after the Notice of Assessment (Form 11) is mailed.

In order to appeal, the Boone County Appeal Worksheet must be completed by the taxpayer and submitted to the Assessor.  The Appeal Worksheet is available for download at the bottom of this page.  The taxpayer completes only the top half of the Appeal Worksheet.  The Appeal Worksheet works for both appeals on valuation (grade, trending, etc.) and for correction of error (square footage, features, etc.).

The taxpayer should provide evidence that their property is valued too high.  Examples of such evidence includes an appraisal, a closing statement, and comparable property assessments and/or sales.  **Please note that you are NOT required to have an appraisal in order to appeal, but if you have one you can use it.

The Property Tax Assessment Board of Appeals (PTABOA) reviews the Appeals on Valuation.  If you would like to be present at the hearing, make note of that at the top of the form.  Keep in mind that an appeal may result in the PTABOA raising your property's value, maintaining it or lowering the assessment.  The PTABOA shall provide a copy of their determination to the petitioner (Form 115).

A petitioner may appeal the PTABOA decision to the Indiana Board of Tax Review. The appeal must be made within thirty days after the mailing date of the PTABOA determination (Form 115), and is filed with the State.  A copy of the IBTR appeal must also be sent to the County Assessor.

After being heard by the Board of Tax Review, taxpayers may also seek review by the Indiana Tax Court. Details on how to appeal to the Tax Court following review by the Board can be obtained by contacting the Indiana Board of Tax Review.